TL;DR
Garmin has launched the Edge 1060, replacing the Edge 1050 as its top bike computer at $799.99 in the U.S. and £699.99 in the U.K. It adds a microphone and speaker for voice control, along with navigation updates; Garmin also introduced two Explore computers and the Tacx Nēra smart trainer.
Garmin has launched the Edge 1060, replacing the Edge 1050 as its top-tier cycling computer and setting a higher price for the flagship at $799.99 in the U.S. and £699.99 in the U.K. The new model adds a built-in microphone and speaker for voice control, as the company also brings out two Edge Explore devices and the Tacx Nēra smart trainer.
The Edge 1060 is priced about $100 or £100 above the Edge 1050, according to Cycling Weekly. Its integrated microphone and speaker enable hands-free actions with the prompt “OK Garmin.” The computer can also connect with the Garmin Messenger app to send and play audio messages while riding.
Garmin has added navigation features including real-time road-closure alerts, interactive route previews and a “free flow routing” mode intended to favor routes with fewer stops. The device has a customizable home screen and emergency reverse charging. Garmin lists battery life at up to 20 hours under heavy use or 60 hours in battery-saver mode, the same stated maximums as the Edge 1050.
The Edge Explore 3 and Explore 3 Plus replace the Explore 2, with the Plus adding a microphone and speaker for voice control. Both models include navigation upgrades such as pin-drop routing, live road-hazard warnings and route previews. The standard Explore 3 costs $399.99/£349.99; the Plus costs $499.99/£429.99. Garmin has also launched the Tacx Nēra, an indoor trainer priced at $999.99/£859.99, with versions supplied either with a cassette or with Zwift Cog and Click virtual shifting.
A Higher Price for Garmin’s Flagship
The Edge 1060’s launch raises the price of Garmin’s top computer while adding voice control and navigation tools. For cyclists considering an upgrade, the main question is whether those features justify paying roughly $100 or £100 more than for the model it replaces. The listed battery-life figures do not show an increase over the Edge 1050, so Garmin’s stated case for the new model centers on its added hardware and navigation functions rather than longer runtimes.
The wider launch gives buyers alternatives at different prices and for different uses: the Explore models are positioned for riders seeking simpler navigation, while the Tacx Nēra extends Garmin’s indoor-training range. Together, the products broaden the choices announced, but their availability alone does not establish how they perform in independent testing.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the New Lineup Fits
The Edge 1060 takes over the flagship position from the Edge 1050, while the Explore 3 devices succeed the Explore 2. Cycling Weekly describes the Explore line as aimed at touring and recreational cyclists who prioritize straightforward navigation over extensive performance metrics. The Explore 3 Plus shares the Edge 1060’s microphone-and-speaker approach, though the standard Explore 3 does not list that feature.
Garmin owns Tacx, whose Nēra joins the company’s indoor cycling equipment alongside the premium Neo 3M and Neo 2T trainers. According to Cycling Weekly, the Nēra supports sprint efforts up to 2,200 watts, gradients up to 20% and stated power and cadence accuracy within 1%. Those are product specifications reported for the launch, not independent test results.
““free flow routing””
— Cycling Weekly, describing Garmin’s routing feature
Garmin Edge Explore 3 Plus with voice control
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Testing and Feature Limits
The announcement details and pricing are reported, but the source material does not include independent performance testing or comparisons of voice recognition, navigation accuracy or real-world battery life. It is also unclear how well voice control works in noisy riding conditions or which actions it supports beyond the general description.
The report gives U.S. and U.K. prices and says the products are available now, but does not specify availability in other markets or whether regional release dates differ. Garmin’s listed battery figures are maximums under stated use modes; actual runtime will depend on settings and conditions.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Availability and Reviews Ahead
Garmin’s devices are reported to be available now, with prices given for the U.S. and U.K. Buyers can compare the Edge 1060 with the outgoing Edge 1050 and assess whether the Explore models meet their navigation needs. Product reviews and hands-on testing will provide further evidence about the new voice and routing features, battery performance, and the Nēra’s movement system.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What is the Garmin Edge 1060?
The Edge 1060 is Garmin’s new flagship bike computer, replacing the Edge 1050. It adds a built-in microphone and speaker, voice control, and updated navigation features.
How much does the Edge 1060 cost?
It is listed at $799.99 in the U.S. and £699.99 in the U.K., about $100 or £100 more than the Edge 1050, according to Cycling Weekly.
What is new about its voice control?
Riders can use the “OK Garmin” prompt to trigger hands-free actions. The computer also works with the Garmin Messenger app to send and play audio messages, though the full range of supported voice commands was not specified in the report.
What other products did Garmin announce?
Garmin introduced the Edge Explore 3, Edge Explore 3 Plus and Tacx Nēra smart trainer. The Explore 3 models are listed at $399.99/£349.99 and $499.99/£429.99; the Nēra is $999.99/£859.99.
Source: rss