TL;DR
Get bike and ride gear delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Tesla is rolling out Emergency Drive Away, an over-the-air feature that lets eligible vehicles shift into Drive and leave a U.S. Supercharger while still connected. Tesla says the connector breaks away, but use is intended for emergencies and can damage both the vehicle and charger.
Tesla is rolling out Emergency Drive Away, a feature that allows supported vehicles to shift into Drive and leave a Supercharger while the charging cable is still attached. The company says the feature is for emergency use only and warns that driving away can damage both the vehicle and the charger.
Tesla Charging announced the feature on X earlier this week and demonstrated a vehicle moving away while connected. To use it, a driver shifts into Drive and confirms an alert on the car’s touchscreen. The charging connector is designed to break away so the charger itself is not pulled along with the vehicle.
The demonstration showed part of the connector falling to the ground after separation. Tesla said in a reply that using the feature “will damage your vehicle and the Supercharger.” The company also warned that deliberate misuse could result in additional penalties.
The feature is being distributed through an over-the-air software update. It requires version 2026.38.3, is limited to U.S. Supercharger locations, and does not work with pre-2021 Model S sedans or Model X crossovers, according to the report.
A Costly Option for Rapid Escape
The feature gives drivers a way to leave if they believe they face immediate danger and cannot safely disconnect the cable first. Tesla introduced it following a lethal shooting at a Supercharger in Idaho this summer, according to The Drive. The update does not prevent danger or remove the need to assess the situation; it provides an emergency override for the vehicle’s usual shift lockout while plugged in.
The trade-off is physical damage. Because Tesla says the vehicle and charging equipment can be damaged, Emergency Drive Away is not a routine way to end a charging session or a substitute for unplugging normally. Drivers may also face penalties for deliberate misuse, though the company has not specified them in the supplied report.
Tesla Supercharger emergency release cable
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The Idaho Shooting Prompted the Update
Tesla’s normal charging setup keeps a vehicle from driving away while its connector remains attached. Emergency Drive Away changes that behavior for eligible cars, allowing the driver to override the lockout after confirming an on-screen warning. Tesla’s demonstration shows the connector separating as the vehicle moves.
The feature is a software change delivered remotely, rather than a new charging station or connector. The report also points to a possible benefit for drivers with limited mobility, who may find heavy fast-charging cables difficult to handle. But Tesla has described this feature as an emergency measure, and its damage warning means it should not be treated as an accessibility solution for ordinary charging.
““Intended for emergency use only.””
— Tesla, in a reply on X, as reported by The Drive
Tesla Model S X charging connector
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Damage and Penalties Still Unspecified
The report does not specify how much damage a typical activation would cause, whether repairs would always be required, or how Tesla would determine whether a driver used the feature deliberately. The nature and amount of any additional penalties are also not described.
Tesla has not provided, in the source material, a detailed account of the Idaho shooting or an explanation of the circumstances that led it to build the feature. It is also unclear how quickly the software update will reach eligible vehicles and whether Tesla plans to expand support beyond the listed models and U.S. Superchargers.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Watch for the Software Rollout
Eligible owners will need software version 2026.38.3 to use Emergency Drive Away. The feature is described as rolling out now, but the source does not give a completion date or say whether installation is automatic for every compatible car.
Drivers should follow the on-screen instructions and treat the function as an emergency override, not a standard way to end a charging session. Further details from Tesla on rollout timing, damage handling, and penalties could clarify how the feature will work in practice.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
How does Tesla Emergency Drive Away work?
The driver shifts into Drive while the cable remains connected, then confirms the alert on the touchscreen. The connector is designed to break away as the vehicle leaves.
Which Tesla vehicles can use the feature?
It requires software version 2026.38.3 and does not support pre-2021 Model S or Model X vehicles. The report does not list every compatible model or model year.
Can it be used at any Supercharger?
The feature is limited to U.S. Superchargers, according to the report.
Will driving away while plugged in damage the car?
Tesla warns that activating the feature will damage the vehicle and the Supercharger. It describes the function as emergency-only.
What penalties could apply for misuse?
Tesla has warned of additional penalties for deliberate misuse, but the supplied report does not specify what those penalties are.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
